New Springfield NAACP President Talbert W. Swan II seeks branch resurgence

SPRINGFIELD – The Rev. Talbert W. Swan II, the newly elected president of the Springfield branch of the NAACP, said Thursday he anticipates a resurgence in the branch and expanded efforts to fight for improved education, health and social justice for communities of color. The election of Swan, pastor of the Spring Hope Church of God in Christ, was the first contested presidential election in more than a decade for the local branch of the National Association for the Advancement of Colored People. Swan received 77 percent of the ballots cast to win over Charles Stokes, a community activist and former City Council candidate.

Swan, a civil rights and community activist, said it is “no secret” that the branch has not been as active in past years as it should be, and was dormant for some time before 2009.


New Officers Elected

On Tuesday, June 28, 2011 Branch elections were held at Muhammad’s Mosque #13. The process was overseen by New England Area Conference President Juan Cofield.

Reverend Talbert W. Swan, II defeated Charles Stokes for the office of President by a 77% to 23% margin. The complete list of officers elected are as follows:

President – Rev. Talbert W. Swan, II
1st Vice President – Candice E. Lopes
2nd Vice President – Ida R. Flynn
3rd Vice President – Justine Williams
Secretary – Ann Bailey Leavenworth
Treasurer – Sophia Jeffery

Executive Committee
Maurice Powe, Esquire
Raymond Berry

The inaugural of branch officers will be held on Sunday, September 18, 2011 at 5:00 PM at the Spring of Hope Church, 35 Alden Street, Springfield, MA.