Reverend Talbert W. Swan, II

is the pastor of the Spring of Hope Church Of God In Christ, Assistant General Secretary for the National Church Of God In Christ, National Chaplain of Iota Phi Theta Fraternity, Inc., Executive Director of COGIC Family Services, an author, radio talk show host and long-time community activist. Pastor Swan has been at the forefront of civil rights issues throughout the region and the nation for over two decades. He holds a Bachelor of Science in Computer Science from Western New England College, an Associate of Science and Bachelor of Science in Religious Studies from Charter Oak State College, a Master of Arts in Theology from Hartford Seminary, a Master of Divinity from Gordon Conwell Theological Seminary and Graduate Certificates from Hartford Seminary and Harvard Divinity School.  Rev. Swan’s life’s work has been committed to the mission of ensuring the political, educational, social, and economic equality of rights of all persons and eliminating race-based discrimination.

1st Vice President

Ida R. Flynn

Ida Flynn became actively involved in the NAACP in 1976 when a friend asked her to help in his campaign for President. She decided to run for the Executive Committee, and was elected.  In 1980, her friend decided not to run again.  Ida was urged to run and she was elected President. She served in that role for ten years and has been active every since, currently serving as Co-Chair of the Membership Committee. During her tenure as President, Ida and the Board instituted many initiatives. She was a fierce advocate for social justice and a strong voice for communities of color. Ida continues her work through her church and in the community.

2nd Vice President

Rev. Mark A. Baymon, Sr.

Pastor Mark Baymon is the founder and Senior Pastor of Deliverance Center Ministries, a church designed to meet the needs of the total person regardless of race color or creed. Pastor Baymon has been the architect of partnerships,  serve the Springfield community, surrounding areas and the world through outreach ministries and various services. He has a heart for the well being of the community and endeavors to ensure that much needed services such as, but not limited to, daycare, after school programs, summer camps, homeless nutrition programs and young men and women mentoring programs are available to those in need. 

3rd Vice President

Leslie Smith

Leslie Smith has been actively involved in the NAACP and her local church for many years. She has been responsible for social programs and has served in the role of Executive Assistant to the pastor.. She currently serves on the NAACP Executive Committee and as Co-Chair of the Membership Committee. She is an advocate for social justice and a voice for her church and in the community.



Ann Bailey Leavenworth

Ann Leavenworth is a longtime community activist. She is a fierce advocate for climate justice, police reform, and social justice. Ann has been an active member of the NAACP for four decades and has served on the Executive Committee and as Secretary under several administrations. She is a recipient of the distinguished James F. Hennessy Award for her longtime commitment to social justice advocacy.

Assistant Secretary

Farrah Smith
Farrah Smith is a longtime member of the Spring of Hope Church where she has served it’s nonprofit arm, COGIC Family Services as a program director and youths services leader. Farrah is the director of Camp Monique, a summer youth enrichment program, youth president, and administrative assistant to the pastor. She holds and associate’s degree in early childhood education and is committed to community service and social justice advocacy.


Sophia E. Jeffery is a resident of the Upper Hill Neighborhood of Mason Square in Springfield, MA.  She was a Corporator for Springfield Institution for Savings from 1987 – 1994; was a member of Board of Directors, Spanish American Union for many years;  is a member of the Springfield Branch of NAACP since 1979; from 1983 to 1993 served on the Governing Board of Springfield Redevelopment Authority and was Chairperson for six years.  Sophia was also on the Board of the Mason Square Development Corp.; and was a board member of the Preschool Enrichment Team.  She is currently the President of Springfield Neighborhood Housing Services, Inc. 

and was on the Board of Directors, Neighborhood Housing Services of America (a national secondary market organization)

Sophia is a 20 year member of the Massachusetts Democratic State Committee; Springfield Democratic City Committee; and was Treasurer of Hampden County Democratic Committee from 1987 – 1993.  .

Sophia is the window of Will Jeffery and the proud mother of three children and seven grandchildren.  In January, 1990 Sophia was recognized by President Bush as one of his Thousand “Points of Light.”  She was the 32nd person recognized.  After thirty plus years, Sophia retired from the Early Childhood Centers of Greater Springfield as Director of Social Services/Health where she was responsible for providing Social and Health Services to three hundred families of children enrolled in the day care center.

Elected Executive Committee

Neel Abdul Hameed

T’Tanya Pitt

RuthAnn Stutts

Appointed Executive Committee

Attorney Maurice Powe

Education T’Tayna Pitt
Finance Sophia Jeffery
Health Malinda Davis
Housing Vacant
Labor & Industry Vacant
Legal Redress Maurice Powe, Esq.
Membership Ida Flynn/Leslie Smith
Political Action Vacant
Prison Branch Vacant
Religious Affairs Rev. Mark Baymon/Rev. J.P. Morgan, Jr.


Each committee establishes its meeting schedule based on the availability of its members. If you are interested in joining a committee, please email the respective committee chair(s) above or call the Springfield Branch at 414.650.6154 for more information.